scouts-l Mail Archive for June of 2000: Re: disciplinary dilemma - GSS?????
Robert Blau (rblau@MAC.COM
Tue Jun 27 2000 - 20:32:55 CDT
In New Jersey any person having reasonable cause to believe that a child has
been subjected to child abuse shall report this information immediately to
the Division of Youth and Family Services.
Note that the law covers "any person" not just a class of persons.
Note also that if you report to your Council Executive and not to DYFS you
have violated the law.
Now is sex between a 15 year old boy and an 18 year old girl child abuse? It
is if it is statutory rape. However in New Jersey assuming the victim is
more than 13 years old and less than 16 years old it is not statutory rape
unless the "actor" is four years older than the victim.