Scouts-L Mail Archive for April of 1999: Re: Lactose-intolerance
Paul S. Wolf
Wed, 28 Apr 1999 08:49:24 -0400
> Jan (et al),
> The "U" rating signifies only that the product is certified to be Kosher
> by the Union of Orthodox Rabbis; it may or may not contain dairy products
> or byproducts. What you want to look for is "P" or "Parve."
Actually the O-U is the Union of Orthodox CONGREGATIONS,
> Parve - containing neither meat nor milk - "P" or "Parve" on the label
> If you are lactose intolerant, you cannot go wrong with a food item
> labeled "Parve."
Mark is correct in most of what he says, BUT P on the label means
acceptable for use during Passover, when the rules restrict many more
items. It does NOT mean Pareve. As I said earlier, look for the WORD
Parve or Pareve.
Also, an O-U without any other marks will USUALLY mean Pareve. The D
will be used when the dairy products are not obvious, but is left off of
things like Cheeses, Yogurt, etc., which are inherently dairy products.
Paul S. Wolf, PE mailto:Paul.S.Wolf@alum.wpi.edu
Traffic Engineer, Cuyahoga County Engineer's Office - Cleveland, Ohio
Past President, Great Lakes Region, Federation of Jewish Men's Clubs
Winding Rivers Dist. Advancement Comm., Greater Cleveland Council, BSA
Advancement Webmaster, US Scouting Service Project (www.usscouts.org)