J. Hugh Sullivan (sull@MINDSPRING.COM)
Fri, 4 Oct 1996 07:29:16 -0500
Kathie Cerveny <kathie@EECS.NWU.EDU> wrote:
Subject: Re: Unwritten rule...NOPE it's written
>Not VERY unwritten guys--- it is indeed written in our handbooks, that the
>boys can NOT count an activity more than once.
I think some clarification is in order here, Kathie. That rule* says that
serving as a PL while a 1st class may be used for Star; the SAME period of
service may not also be used for Life. But, if he again serves (or continues
to serve) as PL WHILE Star, that service may be used for Life.
You brief statement makes it appear that a Scout who serves as Den Chief
while a 1st Class should immediately vacate the position when he becomes
Star in order to take another leadership position to quaify for Life. I
can't agree but I would like to be corrected if wrong.
* Since I don't work at the troop level, I am unaware if it is written in
Terry Howerton Sakima Group, Inc. SCOUTER Magazine Kansas City