Re: Multiple Registration Questions
JAMES A SHECKELS (sheckej@IX.NETCOM.COM)
Wed, 14 Feb 1996 16:20:35 -0800
Barry Marks wrote:
>The correct reference for the minimum leader positions in a unit can
>be found on pp.12-16 of the BSA Registrar Procedures Manual dated AUG
>93.This is not a publication normally available to volunteers.
Good to know the reference used by Councils, but that really doesn't
help the volunteers. Try to pry that Registrasr manual out of their
clutches! I use my Commissioner's manual or the recharter paper that
comes with the recharter packet. There are other references too, but I
don't have them sitting here with me at this time.
>CS Unit Requirements>Minimum leader positions
>CR, CC, MC, MC, CM, DL, WL, GR
But if you don't have a certain age group, you don't need the position
filled, so "minimum" applies only for the age group served. I.E., no
Tigers, no GR required; no Webelos, no WL required; no Bears/Wolves, no
DL required. And yes, I have seen Packs with no Bears/Wolves. At least
three - one had Tigers and Webelos, but no Bears/Wolves!! Rare. I'm
>BS Unit Requirements>Minimum leader positions CR, CC, MC, MC, SM
>VT Unit Requirements>Minimum leader posltions CR, CC, MC, MC, VC
>EX Unit RequiremenLs>Minimum leader positions CR, CC, MC, MC, EA
>SP Unit Requirements>Minimum leader posltlons CR, CC, MC, MC, JEA
Since the CR is NOT a UNIT position (see my 13 Feb post), perhaps what
is really shown here are "minimum chartering requirements".
>IH and CR can be the same individual. That individual can not be the
>unit leader (CM, SM, EA, etc) They can serve on the committee.
Discussion of what the IH can do/be is irrelevant to the issue of
chartering a unit and registering leaders as IH is not a registered
position on the charter. The CR also cannot be the assistant unit
leader (see my 13 Feb post). As stated in my 13 Feb post, since the CR
is NOT a UNIT position, this is what allows him/her to hold one
position in the unit (except leader/assistant leader). Since the unit
is a Pack, Troop, Team, Post or Ship, it seems the Den leading and
Tiger positions are open to the CR, as well as the committee, Tiger
Coach and Den Leader Coach. This also supports the way the BSA Rules
and Regulations break down unit leadership positions, in Article VIII,
Section 3, Clause 11. BTW, as was stated by someone earlier this week,
this means the sponsor's IH could be the CR and CC, all at the same
time. Good business, or not good business??
I took some time to look through the BSA Charter and By-Laws and BSA
Rules and Regulations as relates to primary and multiple registrations.
Barring any local Council policies, there seems to be no requirement at
national level for leaders to have more than one primary (paid)
position within any one Council at the same time. The ONLY prohibition
is multiple-positions, primary or not, within the same unit
(Rules/Regs, Article VI, Section 3, Clause 9), and the requirement that
the leader subscribe to the BSA principles and ideals, and be approved
by the IH or CR for units, and appropriate commissioner or committe
person for those District and Council positions.
I say "barring local Council" policies because my Council Commissioner
at one time had a policy that any Commissioner with a silver wreath not
be a unit leader. He felt that these positions were enough by
themselves without another "line" position thrown in on top. It was
not in concrete, and I don't know that he ever (or any District
Commissioner, which is what I was at the time) asked a person to cease
unit leading and commissioner service at the same time. I guess that
gets back to my hip pocket rule book which tells me that Scouting is
not an exact science!
YIS Jim Sheckels I used to be a Bobwhite....
Terry Howerton Sakima Group, Inc. SCOUTER Magazine Kansas City